Home > BANKING > AFIFC: FBN FC Beats SEC FC to Win 2018 CBN Cup

AFIFC: FBN FC Beats SEC FC to Win 2018 CBN Cup

Oru Leonard


First Bank of Nigeria (FBN) Football Club of Lagos on Saturday, October 20, 2018, emerged champions of the 32ndedition of the All Financial Institutions Football Competition (AFIFC) defeating the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Football Club of Abuja by four goals to two via penalties in a pulsating match decided at the Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasingba, Ibadan, Oyo State. This came after the score stood at 1-1 at the end of regulation time.

Speaking at the event, which was graced by ex-super Eagles maestro, Mutiu Adepoju, the CBN Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele, commended all the teams that participated in the competition, and stressed that the tournament was one of the Apex Bank’s foremost and oldest Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) functions.

Also Read This:  PTDF gives Training Facilities to FTA Orozo

Mr. Emefiele, represented by the Controller of the Ibadan Branch of CBN, Mrs. Ajuma Modojemu, reiterated the Bank’s commitment to make positive contributions towards the promotion and development of football in the country.

While lauding the increase in the number of financial institutions that registered in this year’s competition, he urged other institutions which are yet to register their presence in the competition to encourage their teams to register for the next year’s edition.

The Governor also thanked the Oyo State Government for making the stadium available, and the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) for mobilizing financial institutions and ensuring a hitch-free competition.

Also Read This:  Benue declares Open grazing Illegal

He further acknowledged the contribution of the media and all the football fans for their excellent conduct during the competition.

In the third-place play-off that preceded the final match, Azabe Zinariya MFB FC spanked Balogun Fulani MFB FC 6-2 to cart home the bronze medal.




Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *