Home > Breaking News > Minister Receives Reports of Marine Board of Inquiry on Accidents Involving Vessels

Minister Receives Reports of Marine Board of Inquiry on Accidents Involving Vessels

Oru Leonard


The Minister of Transportation Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi yesterday received reports of the 9-man Marine Board of Inquiry Committee on the accidents involving ‘MV NIKI C’ and a motor tanker ‘MT CHARON’ and ‘MT ELIXIR’ and ‘MT TANK’.

The President of the Marine Board of Inquiry, Chief Magistrate (Mrs) Adebisi Femi-Segun was represented by the Secretary, Mr. Emmanuel Swanta, who submitted the report and said that the board was saddled with the responsibility of carrying out investigation into two distinct incidents which were; the collision between a Greek flagged bulk carrier ‘MV NIKI C’ and a motor tanker ‘MT CHARON’ which occurred on December 21, 2013 at Lagos and the incident involving ‘MT ELIXIR and ‘MT TANK’ which occurred on the 19th of October 2015 along the Bonga Terminal (FPSO) Warrior, Delta State.

Also Read This:  Kenya Presidency:Odinga says he will not recognise Kenyatta win

Femi-Segun noted that the board was given the terms of reference which included; “To investigate and establish the circumstances that led to the reported accidents; to investigate and establish the owners and chatterers of the vessels and those who may have connection with the vessels;

“To identify and cross examine the crew members on board the vessels at the time of the incidents with a view to establishing the cause(s) of the incidents and circumstances; investigate and establish the actual crew members on board the days the incidents occurred with a view to determining the veracity of the report on the dead persons.

Also Read This:  You Can Now Start Live Broadcast With Facebook Space, Latest Technology From Facebook

“To assess the compliance of such vessels with standard prescribed by the Port State Control and ISPS Codes as at the time of the incidents; to recommend appropriate measures that need to be put in place to avert any reoccurrence of similar incidents; and any other matter that may arise during the course of the investigation” she stated.

While noting that the task was enormous based on the magnitude of the incidents and the limited time, she however said that the challenges were surmounted with the support of the Ministry and stakeholders.

Also Read This:  Senators, Reps force their way into NASS amid siege

The Minister who was represented by the Director, Maritime Safety and Security, Mallam A. Dauda, thanked the Board of Inquiry for the accomplishments within the time frame and assured the committee that the highlight of the report will be forwarded for necessary action.

The 9-Man board members were: Chief Magistrate (Mrs) Adebisi O. Femi-Segun as President; Mr. Emmanuel Ibrahim Swanta as Secretary; Mr Philip Akinfemide-FMOT member; Engr. Omotayo Shogo-FMOT member;

Others are; Capt. Daniel Hosea -NPA member; Pilot Rasheed Popoola-NPA member and Barr. Nicholas O. Anya member; Capt. Oboma David-NIMASA member; Engr Benson Aja-Ukpabi -NIMASA member.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *