Home > Breaking News > NJC names Galadima to replace Salami as anti-graft panel chair

NJC names Galadima to replace Salami as anti-graft panel chair

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has named Justice Suleiman Galadima as new chairman of its Corruption and Financial Crime Cases Trial Monitoring Committee (COTRIMCO).

Galadima replaces Justice Ayo Salami who recently turned down the offer of heading the 15-man committee saddled with the responsibility to monitor the trials of corruption and financial crime cases in the country.

A statement yesterday by NJC’s Director of Information, Soji Oye, said the new committee would be inaugurated today by the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Walter Onnoghen.

Also Read This:  Breaking: Cyril Ramaphosa succeeds Zuma as South African president

Other members include the Chief Judge of Borno State, Justice Kashim Zannah as well as those of Imo, Delta and Oyo, Justices P.O. Nnadi; Marshall Umukoro and M. L. Abimbola.

The membership also consists of the President, Nigerian Bar Association, A.B Mahmoud (SAN), his predecessors, Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN); Olisa Agbakoba (SAN); J.B Daudu (SAN); Augustine Alegeh (SAN); Dr. Garba Tetengi (SAN) as well as representatives of the Ministry of Justice; Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN); Alhaji Kabiru Alkali Mohammed; representative of non-governmental organisations and Olanrewaju Sirajo.   The secretary of the NJC, Ahmed Gambo Saleh, is to serve as the panel’s scribe.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *