Home > LOCAL NEWS > Senate Approves Appointment Of 15 INEC Commissioners, Defers 12

Senate Approves Appointment Of 15 INEC Commissioners, Defers 12


The Senate has  confirmed the appointment of 15 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) nominees for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

President Muhammadu Buhari had in March this year submitted 27 names to the Senate for confirmation. Out of the 27 names, 15 were given direct approval while 12 of the nominees were deferred for further consideration.

The nominees who scaled through screening and had their nominations approved by the Senate are Prof Godswill Obioma (Abia), James Iorliam Apam (Benue) Dr Nwachukwu Orji (Ebonyi), Dr Iloh Joseph Valentine Chuks (Enugu), Dr Nentawe Goshwe Yilwatda (Plateau)  and Umar Ibrahim (Taraba).

Also Read This:  PDP Assures Intending Members Of Equal Rights, Privileges

Others are , Mr Emeka Ononamadu Joseph (Imo), Obo Effanga (Cross River), Professor Francis Chukwuemeka Ezeonu (Anambra), Dr Briyai Frankland (Bayelsa), Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa), and Agboke Mutiu Olaleke (Ogun) respectively.

And out of the 15 nominees, 13 as already listed above were confirmed for new appointments while 3 were validated for reappointment. Theyare Hussaini Halilu Pai (FCT), Alhaji Ahmad Makama (Bauchi) and Sadiq Abubakar Musa (Kaduna).

The approval of the nominees and deferment of others followed a dutiful consideration of the report of Senate Committee on INEC after proper screening. The committee’s report was presented by the chairman of Senate Committee on INEC, Senator Suleiman Nazif (Bauchi North).

Also Read This:  Lagos APC lawmakers endorse Sanwo-Olu, dump Ambode

However, at the plenary, the senate gave express approval to the nomination and confirmation of the 15 RECs as submitted by the committee.

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *